# **City Council**

### Monday 13 September 2021

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs Beer, in the Chair.

Councillor Mrs Bridgeman, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Dr Buchan, Carlyle, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Hendy, Hulme, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Murphy, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Vincent, Wakeham and Ms Watkin.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Burden, Churchill, Deacon, Haydon, Morris and Wheeler.

The meeting started at 1.45 pm and finished at 2.00 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <a href="https://www.plymouth.gov.uk">www.plymouth.gov.uk</a>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

#### 15. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.

## 16. Freedom of the City

Councillor Kelly (Leader of the Council) introduced the nomination for Thomas Robert Daley to be bestowed the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Evans OBE (Leader of the opposition).

It was <u>agreed</u> that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(I) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers the title of Freeman of the City in recognition of his achievements in the field of Diving at the European, World Championships, Commonwealth Games and the Olympics.

For (50)

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman (DLM), Dr Buchan, Carlyle, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Hendy, Hulme, James, Jordan, Johnson, Kelly, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Murphy, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Vincent, Wakeham, Mrs Watkin, Lord Mayor Councillor Mrs Beer.

# **OFFICIAL**

# Against (0)

A video was played from Thomas Robert Daley accepting the honour of Freedom on the City.